New Zealand Government Scholarships For ASEAN 2016-2017

Posted on


Daedline : 15 April 2016 (paper application) / 30 April 2016 (online application)


The New Zealand-ASEAN Scholar Awards (NZAS) recognise New Zealand’s close cultural, economic, and geographic ties with Southeast Asia. They seek to empower individuals with the knowledge, skills and qualifications to contribute to the economic, social, and political development of their region. NZAS are offered for postgraduate level study.

NZAS are funded by the New Zealand Aid Programme, the New Zealand Government’s international aid and development programme. They are managed by the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade.

Eligible countries

  • Brunei Darrusalam
  • Cambodia,
  • Indonesia
  • Laos,
  • Malaysia
  • Myanmar,
  • Philippines,
  • Singapore
  • Thailand,
  • Viet Nam

Qualification types

New Zealand ASEAN Scholarships are available for the following qualifications:

  • Postgraduate Certificate (6 months)
  • Postgraduate Diploma (1 year)
  • Masters Degree (1 – 2 years)
  • PhD (up to 3.5 years)


  • Candidates must meet all the scholarship eligibility criteria including:
  • Be a minimum of 18 years of age at the time of commencing your scholarship.
  • Be a citizen of the country from which you are applying for a scholarship and have resided in that country for at least the last two years.
  • Agree to return to your home country for a minimum of two years on completion of the scholarship.

Read the full eligibility criteria

Search the Study in New Zealand database (external link)

How to apply

Forms and conditions

You can contact MFAT in New Zealand by emailing


Scope Global Nusantara

Lippo Kuningan, 19th Floor

Jl. HR Rasuna Said Kav. B12

Jakarta 12940. Indonesia

Tel: +62 21 2911 0146

Fax: +62 21 2911 0147


Visit official website for more information